This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...

Make sure not to miss out! 

Enter 2019's National Women’s Club T20 Knockout Cup & Plate competition taking place in May and June. 

Contact before registrations close on Sunday 16th December.

hide announcement
Kempston Methodists Cricket Club


We are sorry to report that our Ladies Team are transferring to Ampthill Cricket Club and will be playing their home games at Marston next season.

The workload and travelling for Tom and Jess has proved impossible since they moved to Dorking and Ampthill have the means to run a Ladies Team successfully. We wish the girls well for the future and thank Tom and Jess for their hard work in setting up the team in the first place. 


To our mens team bowler MARK WOODWARD who in his first season with us has achieved what our ladies have done but not our men in the last three years and taken five wickets in a game.

In the midweek league game against bottom club Bedford Qalanders, Mark took 5 for 15 in his allotted 4 overs. Well done Mark! 


Have you paid your Membership Fee (£20) for this current season? If not, please do so without delay. Remember, you are not covered by the clubs insurance if you haven't paid. See below for details how to pay.


To Amie Nichols for getting onto the County Play-Cricket Honours Board for week ending 9 May. Amie had amazing bowling figures of 5 for 0 and it is a pity she will have to wait another 11 months before she receives her award at next years presentation evening. Meantime, "Well done Amie!"


Club Membership Fees are now due and can be paid to our Hon Treasurer, Hon Life President or direct into our bank account. The details are as follows:

Bank: Nat West.
Sort Code: 60 12 45
Acc No: 51997711
Acc Name: KMCC
Ref: Your Name

Gary Wright-Pack pictured with the Midweek League Div II Bowling Award for 2018 

Welcome to our Play-Cricket Website where you will find everything you need to know about our club.

Our club's formation is recorded as 1922, by members of Kempston East Wesleyan Church, but didn't start playing serious matches until 1924 when with other Free Church clubs in the District it helped to constitute the Bedford Free Church Cricket League. This makes us the oldest cricket club in Kempston. The Championship Shield was won five times, the last time being in 1936. This league lapsed during World War II.

In 1968 the club became a founding member of the Bedford Midweek League and have been playing in this league every season since. In 1989 the club moved to the Cryselco Lamp Factory’s Sports Ground in Woburn Road, now called Cryselco Park. Our facilities here include changing rooms and showers, tea room and toilets. The playing area is looked after by our own members.


In the 1990's we played in the Chiltern Village League until it's demise in 1997, when we joined the Millman League and in 2012 the club was a founding member of the Bedfordshire Invitation Saturday Cricket League.

In 2014 our Midweek XI were runners up in the third division of the Bedford Midweek League and our 1st XI were the winners of the Bedfordshire Invitation Saturday League Division 2. Promotion for both our teams in the same season.

In 2016 the club launched a ladies team that will be playing friendlies throughout the season and beyond. This was the only ladies team playing regular matches in Bedfordshire. The team now play league matches in the Four Counties Ladies League. Any ladies or girls, no matter what experience or age are welcome to join our club and give it a go. More information can be found by contacting our ladies captain whose details are on the 'About Us' section.

The club still retains its link with the Methodist Churches in Kempston but has welcomed many members from the wider community and continues to do so to this day. We would welcome any new players who would be interested in turning out for us. For details on how to join our friendly family club please see the page About Us. 

KMCC Photographed in 1934 with the Bedford Free Church Shield

Back L-R: WF Bennion, H Roberts, EWG Curtis, ?, ?, W (Bill) Turner, ?.

Front L-R: BA Riddy, E Felts, AJ Parker, Mrs Turvey (Scorer), H Turvey (Capt), H White, R Turner

Order your team kit from our Club Store at Serious Cricket by clicking here
Click to see detail of visits and stats for this site